Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
 

Celebrate America’s National Pastime – 1850s style

March 26, 2018
​Calling all sports fans and history buffs! Invite your friends and family to experience a live vintage baseball game using rules, uniforms, customs and equipment dating back to the 1850s.

The Middlesex County Office of Arts and History is proud to announce that this spring will mark the inaugural season for the County’s new vintage-style baseball team, the Liberty Base Ball Club. The team’s home games will be played at Liberty Field at East Jersey Old Town Village, located at 1050 River Rd., Piscataway. Admission to all games is free.

“This club carries on the tradition of the original Liberty BBC, organized in 1857 in New Brunswick,” said Freeholder Kenneth Armwood, chair of the County’s Business Development and Education Committee. “The club was disbanded during the Civil War, but reorganized following the war’s end and played until 1870.”

“Middlesex County has over 160 years of baseball history, and this new team is a great way to celebrate that legacy of teamwork and good sportsmanship,” said Middlesex County Freeholder Director Ronald G. Rios. “I hope many families will get outdoors to these free games and share in our national pastime.”

Spectators should bring their own lawn chairs or blankets for seating.

All dates are double-headers unless noted:

Saturday, April 14 at 12 p.m.
Mutual BBC vs. Liberty BBC

Saturday, April 21 at 12 p.m.
Elizabeth Resolutes vs. Liberty BBC

Away Game: Saturday, May 5 at 12 p.m.
Nomahegan Park, Cranford, NJ (single)
Liberty BBC vs. Elizabeth Resolutes
 
Saturday, May 12 at 12 p.m.
Hoboken Nine BBC vs. Liberty BBC
 
Sunday, May 20 from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Middlesex County History Day
Elizabeth Resolutes vs. Liberty BBC

Sunday, June 10 at 11 a.m.
Providence Grays BBC vs. Liberty BBC

Saturday, June 16 at 12 p.m.
Father's Day Vintage Baseball Game
Neshanock BBC vs. Liberty BBC
 
Away Game: Saturday, June 23 at 11 a.m.
Rahway River Park, Rahway, NJ
Liberty BBC vs. Elizabeth Resolutes

Away Game: Saturday, June 30
Prospect Park, Brooklyn, NY
Liberty BBC vs. Atlantic BBC

Saturday, July 14 at 12 p.m.
Monmouth Furnace BBC vs. Liberty BBC

Saturday, July 28 at 12 p.m.
Brandywine BBC vs. Liberty BBC

Away Game: Saturday, August 4 at 9 a.m. and 12:30 p.m.
Doc Adams Old Time Baseball Festival
Old Bethpage Village Restoration, NY

9 AM Liberty vs Providence Grays
At Schenk Field

12:30PM Liberty vs Brooklyn Atlantic
At Fairgrounds
 
Away Game: Saturday, August 11
East Goshen Park, West Chester, PA
Liberty BBC vs. Brandywine BBC

Saturday, August 25 at 12 p.m.
Elizabeth Resolutes vs. Liberty BBC

Away Game: Saturday, September 15
Location TBD
Liberty BBC vs. Monmouth Furnace

Away Game: Sunday, September 23
Calvert Regional Park, North East, MD
Liberty BBC vs. Rising Sun

Funding for the Liberty Base Ball Club is provided in part by the Middlesex County Board of Chosen Freeholders.
Back to top