Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Service alert Open

All Middlesex County buildings will remain closed to the general public until further notice due to COVID-19. Only select County services are available on an appointment basis.
September 23, 2021 County Commissioner Meeting Notice: Due to the severe weather warning the meeting will now take place virtually; click here for more details.


​The memorial stands as a tribute to those who died while protecting the lives and property of the citizens of Middlesex County

​During National Police Week, our nation salutes the law enforcement community’s hard work, loyalty, and dedication to keeping our communities safe.

A memorial at the Middlesex County Police Training Center in Edison serves to recognize these contributions and honor those law enforcement officers who have perished in the line of duty.

The memorial is comprised of a mural bearing the name and agency of every officer who has died in the line of duty since 1856. Adjacent to the memorial is a book, detailing the accomplishments and service of these brave officers.
The fallen officers are identified as:
  • Special Constable John Bodnar, Sr., Carteret Police Department
  • Patrolman William J. Cady, South Plainfield Police Department
  • Patrolman Robert A. Cardone, South Brunswick Police Department
  • Trooper William L. Carroll, Jr., New Jersey State Police
  • Patrolman Richard H. Conklin, South Plainfield Police Department
  • Officer Woodhull W. Davis, Juvenile Justice Commission
  • Patrolman Michael Dudash, Edison Police Department
  • Patrolman George Dunham, Franklin Township Police Department
  • Chief Charles Eberwein, South River Police Department
  • Trooper Werner Foerster, New Jersey State Police
  • Patrolman John Gurnovich, South Brunswick Police Department
  • Patrolman Robert S. Heathcock, North Brunswick Police Department
  • Patrolman Howard J. Kline Jr., Milltown Police Department
  • Chief Harry C. Kuell, Sr., East Brunswick Police Department
  • Patrolman John Lebed, Franklin Township Police Department
  • Patrolman Joseph Lewis, Woodbridge Police Department
  • Detective Richard E. Mcgilvery, Rutgers University Police Department
  • Guard Joseph Michalowski, Middlesex County Sheriff’s Department
  • Patrolman Frank J. Papaianni, Edison Police Department
  • Patrolman Thomas E. Raji, Perth Amboy Police Department
  • Patrolman Walter Rusinak, Carteret Police Department
  • Patrolman William A. Savage, New Brunswick Police Department
  • Trooper Christopher S. Scales, New Jersey State Police
  • Deputy Chief Robert Shanley, Carteret Police Department
  • Patrolman William I. Van Arsdale, New Brunswick Police Department
  • Patrolman Alvin Williams, Woodbridge Police Department
  • Trooper Warren G. Yenser, New Jersey State Police.
The first officer to have died in the line of duty was Patrolman Van Arsdale of the New Brunswick Police Department, due to a drowning in 1856. The most recent officer to die in the line of duty was Patrolman Raji of the Perth Amboy Police Department, who died in 2008 due to a vehicular homicide.
Eleven of the officers died from gunfire; four were struck by motor vehicles; three from medical-related incidents; three from motor vehicle crashes, and two each died either from drowning, stabbing, or vehicular assault.

Back to Homepage

Back to top