The Facts About Teen Driving

The Numbers

Every ten minutes a teen crashes in New Jersey. In 2008, there were 56,962
crashes involving teen drivers between 16 and 20 years of age.

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death in New Jersey and
nationwide for young people between the ages of 16 and 20.

An average of 6,000 teens die and approximately 300,000 are injured in motor
vehicle crashes each year nationwide.

In New Jersey, teen crashes are most often the result of overconfidence behind
the wheel coupled with distraction, inexperience, speeding, and/or failure to yield.
Seat belt use among teens is the lowest for any age group.

More male drivers than female drivers are involved in teen crashes.

More teen crashes in New Jersey occur in May than any other month and on a
Friday than any other day of the week.

The most dangerous time on the road for teen drivers in New Jersey is between
3 and 6 p.m., followed by Noon and 3 p.m.

In New Jersey, teens represent the largest contingent of drivers involved in
crashes. They account for six percent of the licensed drivers in the state, but are
involved in 13 percent of the crashes.

In 2008, 36 teen drivers and 23 teen passengers, in a car driven by a teen, lost
their lives in traffic crashes. In 2007, 35 teen drivers and 33 teen passengers
tragically lost their lives in crashes.

The Law*
Teens (16-20 years of age) holding a provisional license under New Jersey’s Graduated
Driver License (GDL) law:

may not drive between 12:01 and 5 a.m.

may not have more than one friend (non-family member) in their car.

may not use a cell phone (hand-held or hands-free), ipod or any other electronic
device.

must ensure that they and all of their passengers wear seat belts.

face a fine of $100 and possible license suspension for violation of the GDL
law.

may not plea bargain any point carrying offense.

* The following changes to the law take effect on May 1,2010: The curfew will
become 11:01 p.m. to S a.m., while the name of the provisional license will change
to “probationary.” In addition, a probationary driver will be permitted to transport
only one passenger besides his or her dependents. (NOTE: This one passenger
restriction does not apply if the driver is accompanied by a parent or guardian.)
All GDL holders (with permit or probationary licenses) under 21 years of age will
also be required to display a decal on their vehicles when behind the wheel.
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