Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Service alert Open

All Middlesex County buildings will remain closed to the general public until further notice due to COVID-19. Only select County services are available on an appointment basis.
September 23, 2021 County Commissioner Meeting Notice: Due to the severe weather warning the meeting will now take place virtually; click here for more details.




Fire Bureau
The Middlesex County Fire Marshal Responsibilities:
•  To enforce the New Jersey Uniform Fire Code and Fire Safety regulations for the County of Middlesex, as well as Highland Park, Middlesex, Milltown, City of South Amboy and the Boroughs of Dunellen and South River.
• Provide coordination with all of Middlesex Counties 25 municipalities during fire related incidents where mutual aid may be needed.
• Provide fire coverage for specialized events and other related tasks.
Major activities within the scope of the Fire Marshal’s office include:
• Inspection of Life Hazard use
• Inspection of Non-Life Hazard use (except owner occupied one and two family dwellings)
• Smoke and Carbon Monoxide detector certifications for residential resale.
• Fire Safety Compliance
• Fire  Safety Permits
• Fire Investigations to determine origin and cause.
• Fire Safety Education Programs for all schools
• Senior Citizen Fire Safety Programs   

The following information has been provided for your use: 

 Applications may be emailed to:


Information about the  Fire Watch Program 



       Go to The Middlesex County Fire Academy


Office of Emergency Management, Communications and Preparedness
Bureau of the Fire Marshal
1001 Fire Academy Drive
Sayreville, NJ 08872
Phone Number: (732) 316-7171
Fax: (732) 721-7486                             Email:
Directions and Parking

Fire ​Contact Information:

Michael Gallagher 
Michael Marcinczyk
Linda Hopkins, Facility Coordinator          
Mary McCormick, Student Coordinator   Email:

Lauren Sutkowski
Fire Marshal's Office Coordinator​
Back to top