Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Service alert Open

All Middlesex County buildings will remain closed to the general public until further notice due to COVID-19. Only select County services are available on an appointment basis.
September 23, 2021 County Commissioner Meeting Notice: Due to the severe weather warning the meeting will now take place virtually; click here for more details.


What is a County Commissioner?

A County Commissioner is a term used by all 21 of New Jersey’s counties to describe county legislators. The residents of Middlesex County’s 25 municipalities elect seven (7) persons to serve as members of the Board of County Commissioners. The Commissioners are elected at-large to staggered three-year terms in the November general election. In January of each year, the Board reorganizes, selecting one Commissioner to be County Commissioner Director and another to be County Commissioner Deputy Director. The County Commissioner Director appoints Commissioners to serve as Chairpersons and members on the various committees which oversee county departments. Formerly known as Freeholders, on August 21, 2020, the State of New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy signed L. 2020, CHAPTER 67, which changed the statutory name of the Board of Chosen Freeholders and associated titles to the Board of County Commissioners, effective January 1, 2021.

Ronald G. Rios Director of the Board of County Commissioners Profile
Shanti Narra County Commissioner Deputy Director Profile
Claribel A. Azcona-Barber County Commissioner Profile
Charles Kenny County Commissioner Profile
Leslie Koppel County Commissioner Profile
Chanelle Scott McCullum County Commissioner Profile
Charles E. Tomaro County Commissioner Profile
Back to top